The Next Chapter, publishing unpublished Australian stories

7 June 2023

Every year the Next Chapter helps four emerging, unpublished, Australian writers bring their stories to a wider audience, through financial support and mentoring. Writers chosen to participate receive fifteen thousand dollars, and are given assistance to get their work published.

Past Next Chapter writers include Evelyn Araluen, winner of the 2022 Stella Prize with her collection of poetry, Dropbear, and Adam Thompson, who wrote short story collection Born Into This in 2021.

The initiative is organised by the Wheeler Centre, and aided by funding from the Australia Council for the Arts. Applications for the Next Chapter 2024 close on Friday 30 June 2023.


, ,