The 2024 Miles Franklin shortlist for Australian fiction

2 July 2024

The shortlist for the 2024 Miles Franklin literary award for works of Australian fiction, was announced earlier today. Of the ten novels named on the longlist in May, the following six titles have been included today:

  • Only Sound Remains, by Hossein Asgari
  • Wall, by Jen Craig
  • Anam, by André Dao
  • The Bell of the World, by Gregory Day
  • Hospital, by Sanya Rushdi
  • Praiseworthy, by Alexis Wright

Each author will receive five-thousand dollars for making the cut. Kate Evans, writing for ABC News, describes this year’s shortlist as one of the most culturally diverse, and notes that should a woman author win this year, that will be eight times in a row a woman has won.

My money would be on Alexis Wright’s Praiseworthy, which has been doing well on the award’s circuit. The 2024 winner will be unveiled on Thursday 1 August 2024.


, , ,