Showing all posts tagged: Richell Prize

The 2022 Richell Prize shortlist for unpublished writers

13 October 2022

The 2022 Richell Prize shortlist — which is open to unpublished Australian writers of adult fiction and adult narrative non-fiction — was announced on Tuesday 10 October 2022. This year six writers were selected from a field of some seven hundred aspirants.

  • Zainab’s Not Home, by Hajer Al-awsi
  • When Trees Fall Without Warning, by Susannah Begbie
  • Wake, by Kate Harris
  • Place Setting, by Eva Lomski
  • The Little Ones, by Anne Myers
  • The Medusa, by Lisa Nan Joo

In addition to a cash prize, the winner — who will be named on Thursday 3 November 2022 — will receive twelve months mentoring with a publisher at Hachette Australia, and may possibly see their manuscript published.


, ,

Simone Amelia Jordan on writing your first book

4 May 2022

Sydney based journalist and writer Simone Amelia Jordan, winner of the 2021 Richell Prize for emerging authors, on overcoming your sense of imposter syndrome, and getting on with writing your first book.

…it’s an absolute life goal for writers and non-writers alike, to get these stories out of us and into the world. I’m a journalist by trade, so writing creative non-fiction has been a challenge. But I’m pushing myself out of my comfort zone to learn and be the best I can be.


, ,

The 2022 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers

26 April 2022

Entries are open until Friday 8 July for the 2022 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers. Writers, who are unpublished, need only submit the first three chapters of their manuscript at this stage, though they must intend to complete it.

This is the eighth year of the prestigious Richell Prize and once again entries are open to unpublished writers of adult fiction and adult narrative non-fiction. Writers do not need to have a full manuscript at the time of submission, though they must intend to complete one. The Prize will be judged on the first three chapters of the submitted work, along with a synopsis outlining the direction of the proposed work and detail about how the author’s writing career would benefit from winning the Prize.

The Richell Prize was established in 2015 in memory of Matt Richell, the former CEO of the Australian operation of Hachette Publishing, who died in 2014. The longlist for the prize will be published on Monday 5 September 2022.


, ,