Showing all posts tagged: historical fiction

The 2023 ARA Historical Novel Prize shortlists

27 September 2023

The shortlists for the 2023 ARA Historical Novel Prize were announced earlier today. The award is presented in two categories, Adult, and Children and Young Adult. The three finalists in each category are as follows:


Children and Young Adult

Presented in association with the ARA Group, the ARA Historical Novel Prize, which is awarded annually, recognises excellence in historical fiction writing by Australian and New Zealand authors. The winners of both award categories will be named on Thursday 19 October 2023.

This year’s shortlist also marks the second year in a row that Katrina Nannestad has featured on the shortlists. Nannestad went on to win the Children and Young Adult category in 2022 with her book Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief. Will it be two a row for her this year?


, , , ,

Tom Keneally, Katrina Nannestad win 2022 ARA Historical Novel Prize

22 October 2022

Sydney based Australian author Tom Keneally has won the adult category of the 2022 ARA Historical Novel Prize with his novel Corporal Hitler’s Pistol. Katrina Nannestad meanwhile, who resides in central Victoria, was named winner of the children and young adult category with Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief.

Keneally has graciously shared his prize money with this year’s other award longlisted authors. Keneally was forthright in his decision. Speaking as an eighty-seven year old he said, he’d rather see other writers benefit from the prize money instead of him spending it on incontinence pads.


, , , ,

The 2022 ARA Historical Novel Prize

16 April 2022

Entries for the 2022 ARA Historical Novel Prize are open until Wednesday 15 June 2022, in two categories, Adult novels, and Children and Young Adult (CYA), to authors who are citizens, or residents, of Australia or New Zealand.

The Prize is worth a total of $100,000 in prize monies; $50,000 will be awarded to the Adult category winner, with an additional $5,000 to be awarded to each of the remaining two shortlisted authors. In the CYA category, the winner will receive $30,000, while the two short listers will receive $5,000 each.

To be eligible, works must have been published between 1 July 2021 and 30 June 2022, and have most of the story set at least fifty years ago. The longlist, made up of nine titles, will be announced on Wednesday 14 September 2022.



The Historical Novel Society Australasia shortlist 2021

11 October 2021

The shortlist for the annual Historical Novel Society Australasia historical novel prize has been announced. Presently there are two categories, adult, and children and young adult. Winners will be named on Friday, 22 October 2021.